Monthly Prize Monthly Prize
Yearly Prize Yearly Prize

General

Unstable Bailey Unicorn Cabrera

Total Posts: 2
Please correct the mistakes below:
Posted: 6 years ago
Unstable Bailey Unicorn Cabrera

My wife and I purchased a Bailey Unicorn Cabrera in December 2011 and have found this unit to be very unstable and we are wondering whether any other Cabrera owners found the same.

I have been towing for 30+ years and have not had this with any other caravan, 4 different vans.

We went to Scotland for our main holiday with a trip of 385 miles each way. Going there through the night was quiet but I still felt the van swaying and it did not feel stable. On the return trip the caravan was very unstable and at times very scary. Coming through Glen Coe a coach came from the other direction and our van started to snake violently and took up the full width of the road, we were lucky that there were no cars behind the coach .All I could do was decelerate and hold on until it levelled out then accelerated out of it, we were only doing about 40 m/hr.

The rest of the journey was very tiring as I was not able to take a hand off the steering due to the caravan shaking the car. Even on the motorway we were lucky to reach 50m/hr. Glad to get home.
On the way home even a car passing would make the unit unstable. On the way home we stopped to check the loading of the van which had not changed, with the nose weight at 75kg and any heavy items like awnings were still over the axle, and they were.

We tow with an X-Trail with the back filled with an inflatable boat and 20hp. Motor so there was plenty of weight to hold the road I am glad to say.