Members:

See All Leaderboard
Monthly Prize Monthly Prize
Yearly Prize Yearly Prize

General

Help! I need to know my caravan's weight before I set off.

Total Posts: 14
Please correct the mistakes below:
Posted: 7 years ago
I am new to caravanning and I am trying to weigh my caravan correctly before I take it on the road.

I have attempted this several times and the weight is alot greater than I would have expected. I have no idea if I'd doing this correctly.

Anyone got any words of wisdom?

Help
Posted: 7 years ago
Have you read this article?
http://www.caravanownersclub.co.uk/SocialHub/News
It might help.
Total Posts: 6
Posted: 6 years ago
Take it to a local weighbridge, drop the jockey wheel so that the caravan & jockey are the only things on the bridge, unhitch but do not move the tow car. Read the weight or get the bridge operator to print out a ticket.
Total Posts: 228
You can take it to a weighbridge if you can find one and as long as you DON'T ask for a ticket they normally will not charge you, or you can go to the expense of buying a Reich Caravan Weight Control gauge, the 1000kg model from Halfords is £135 the 1500kg model is £160, in use as you only weigh what weight is on one wheel at a time the 1000kg model can weigh a caravan that is potentially 2000kg I have never seen a touring caravan that weighs that much.
Total Posts: 67
My twin axle is rated at 2000 kgs and there are probably a few \german and US caravans that are over 3000.
If you bother to read my post I was refering to a single axle caravan that is why I said ONE WHEEL, I did not say anything about two wheels if you want to go down that route then the 1500kg one is the one that is required, they will weigh a caravan upto 3000 kg
Please Mr Stoner do tell me which caravan you have